← All posts 2026-10-01

Does Spirit Airlines Allow Dogs? What Changed in 2026 and Where to Fly Your Dog Now

Does Spirit Airlines Allow Dogs? 2026 Answer After the Shutdown

Key takeaways

  • As of October 2026, Spirit Airlines does not carry dogs because it stopped all flights on May 2, 2026 and is selling off its assets in bankruptcy court.
  • While it operated, Spirit carried small dogs in the cabin on domestic U.S. flights only, in a carrier no larger than 18 x 14 x 9 inches that fit under the seat, according to its Contract of Carriage (updated April 30, 2026).
  • Spirit never accepted dogs as checked baggage or cargo, and it did not accept pets on international flights. Service dogs were the only exception abroad.
  • Third-party guides put Spirit's in-cabin pet fee at $125 per carrier each way. Spirit's Contract of Carriage confirms there was a charge but does not state the amount.
  • Service dogs flew free on Spirit if the owner submitted the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) Service Animal Air Transportation Form at least 48 hours before the flight.
  • Frontier Airlines still accepts dogs in the cabin on all domestic flights in soft carriers up to 18 x 14 x 11 inches, but it does not accept new pets for international travel.
  • Animal Passport is a biometric livestock ID record, not an airline pet document or a government travel certificate. It does not replace a DOT form or a veterinary health certificate.

No. As of October 2026, Spirit Airlines does not allow dogs because Spirit Airlines no longer flies. Spirit Airlines was a Florida-based ultra-low-cost U.S. airline, and it began an "orderly wind-down" on May 2, 2026, cancelling every flight. While it was still flying, Spirit allowed small dogs in the cabin on domestic flights only. The dog had to ride in a carrier no larger than 18 x 14 x 9 inches, for a fee widely reported as $125 each way, and Spirit never carried dogs as cargo or checked baggage.

This guide explains what happened to Spirit, what its dog policy said, and which airlines dog owners are booking instead. It is written by the editorial team at Animal Passport and was last updated on October 1, 2026. Airline pet rules change often, so check the current policy with your new airline before you book.

empty airport check-in counter with grounded yellow airplane outside window
Photo by Clément Proust on Pexels
empty airport check-in counter with grounded yellow airplane outside window
Photo by Jeffry Surianto on Pexels

Does Spirit Airlines allow dogs in 2026?

No. You cannot book a dog, or any passenger, on Spirit Airlines in 2026. According to a wind-down motion that Spirit filed in the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of New York (Case 25-11897, filed May 4, 2026), the airline "ceased all passenger flight operations" at about 3:00 a.m. on Saturday, May 2, 2026. It also asked the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) to issue a ground stop for Spirit flights.

No airline has brought Spirit back since then. On September 23, 2026, U.S. Bankruptcy Judge Sean H. Lane approved the sale of Spirit's last 27 Airbus A320-family aircraft for about $668.1 million, as reported by Aerospace Global News (September 2026). The buyers were a lender-controlled vehicle and an affiliate of FTAI Aviation. That sale effectively finished off the fleet that once carried pets in the cabin.

A note on conflicting reports

Sources describe the bankruptcy differently. Aerospace Global News (September 2026) says Spirit is liquidating its assets under Chapter 11, and the court filings belong to a Chapter 11 case. The pet-travel site Travel Vient (2026) describes it as a "Chapter 7 liquidation." For dog owners the result is the same either way: Spirit is not flying and cannot accept animals.

What was Spirit Airlines' dog policy before the shutdown?

Many people still search for Spirit's pet rules. They may be holding an old booking, comparing airlines, or reading outdated guides. The most authoritative record is Spirit's own Contract of Carriage, last updated on April 30, 2026, two days before the shutdown. Section 6.2 set these conditions for pets in the cabin:

  1. Domestic flights only. Spirit accepted "domesticated dogs, cats and in some cities rabbits and small household birds" on flights within the United States and between the U.S. and its territories.
  2. No international pets. Spirit "does NOT accept pets in cabin for travel on international flights," with an exception for service animals where the destination country allowed them.
  3. Carrier size. The maximum container size was 18 x 14 x 9 inches (45.72 x 35.56 x 22.86 cm). The carrier had to fit under the seat in front of you, and the dog had to be able to stand and turn around inside it.
  4. One carrier per passenger. Each passenger could bring one pet carrier, holding up to two similar pets (for example, two small dogs) if both fit.
  5. Six carriers per cabin. Spirit allowed a maximum of six pet containers per aircraft cabin.
  6. Dog stays in the carrier. Pets could not be taken out of the carrier during the flight. A pet that caused a disturbance could be removed at the first stop.
  7. The carrier counted as your carry-on. A pet carrier counted toward the passenger's carry-on bag allowance.
  8. No cargo or checked pets. Under Section 6.4, Spirit "does NOT accept animals as cargo or as checked baggage."

The contract also said unaccompanied minors could not travel with pets. Travelers to Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands had to check local health and rabies-certificate rules themselves, and rabbits and birds were not accepted to or from those territories.

How much did Spirit charge to fly a dog?

Spirit's Contract of Carriage says only that "there is a service charge for each pet carrier." It does not give the amount. The independent directory Airline-Pet-Policies.com lists the fee as $125 per container each way, raised in 2023 from $110, and non-refundable. Travel Vient (2026) also lists $125.

Did Spirit have a weight limit for dogs?

The sources disagree on this. Travel Vient (2026) says Spirit allowed a 40 lb (18 kg) combined weight for the pet and carrier, which it calls the most generous cap of any U.S. airline at the time. Spirit's April 2026 Contract of Carriage does not mention any weight limit. It relies on the 18 x 14 x 9 inch carrier size and the rule that the dog can stand and turn around. In practice, the carrier size limited which dogs could fly more than any weight number did.

Service dogs and emotional support animals on Spirit

Section 6.3 of the Contract of Carriage let trained service dogs fly free of charge. A service dog had to be at least four months old and individually trained to do work or perform tasks for a person with a disability. Owners had to submit the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) Service Animal Air Transportation Form at least 48 hours before the flight. Each passenger could bring up to two service dogs.

Emotional support animals were accepted only "as a pet in cabin for an extra charge," under the same carrier rules. Some older guides still conflict on this point. For example, part of the Airline-Pet-Policies.com page says emotional support animals are "no longer allowed," and it also cites a limit of four pet containers per aircraft, while the contract says six. Where the sources conflict, this article follows Spirit's own contract.

Spirit vs. airlines that still fly dogs: comparison

If you were planning to fly a small dog on Spirit, the table below compares Spirit's old rules with four U.S. airlines that still accept dogs in the cabin as of October 2026. The Frontier carrier sizes come from Frontier Airlines' official Family & Pets page. The fees and weight limits for the other airlines come from Travel Vient's 2026 airline comparison. Confirm every figure with the airline before you book.

AirlineDogs in cabin?Max carrier size (inches)Weight limitReported feeCargo / checked pets
Spirit Airlines (stopped flying May 2, 2026)No longer operating18 x 14 x 9Not stated in contract; 40 lb per Travel Vient$125 each way (historical)Never accepted
Frontier AirlinesYes, all domestic flights18 x 14 x 11 soft; 18 x 14 x 8 hardNone stated$149 per Travel VientNot accepted
Allegiant AirYes, domestic (48 states)18 x 12 x 11 softNone stated$50 per segment per Travel VientNot listed
Alaska AirlinesYes17 x 11 x 9.5 soft20 lb$100 per Travel VientCheck airline
Hawaiian AirlinesYes16 x 10 x 9.5 soft only25 lb combined$35 inter-island / $100 mainland per Travel VientCheck airline

Spirit had the largest carrier height and a reportedly generous weight allowance, so owners of heavier small dogs lost the most when it shut down. Travel Vient (2026) writes that with Spirit gone, "no US carrier permits over-20-lb cabin pets on the mainland," and that Hawaiian's 25 lb cap is now the highest in the U.S.

How to rebook a dog that was booked on Spirit

If you had a Spirit trip planned with your dog, work through these steps:

  1. Sort out your refund first. Spirit said refunds for flights bought with a credit or debit card would be processed automatically, according to Elevenflo's summary of the shutdown filings. Questions now go to the bankruptcy claims agent, not to a Spirit call center.
  2. Measure your current carrier. Spirit's 9-inch height limit was tighter than Frontier's 11-inch soft-carrier limit. Its 14-inch width was wider than Alaska's 11 inches or Hawaiian's 10 inches, so a carrier that fit on Spirit may be rejected elsewhere.
  3. Weigh your dog and carrier together. Most surviving U.S. airlines cap the combined weight at about 20 lb, according to Travel Vient (2026). A dog that flew on Spirit may now be too heavy for the cabin.
  4. Reserve pet space early. Airlines limit the number of pets per flight. Spirit allowed six carriers per cabin, and other airlines set their own caps.
  5. Check destination health rules. Frontier notes that the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) regulates pet transport within the U.S. Frontier doesn't require a health certificate for domestic cabin pets, but some destination states may. Frontier also says Puerto Rico requires an official health certificate valid for 30 days.
  6. For international trips, start with the CDC. The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) says requirements for dogs entering the U.S. "depend on where the dog was vaccinated and what countries the dog has been in during the 6 months before entry." The CDC recommends its Dog Importation Navigator. Frontier does not accept new pets for international travel.

Airline pet rules, official pet travel paperwork, and Animal Passport are different things

Dog owners often mix up three separate things. Here is how they differ:

  • Airline pet policies (like Spirit's old Section 6.2) are private contract terms. They set carrier size, fees and which animals an airline will carry.
  • Official pet travel paperwork comes from government bodies. For international travel, the United States Department of Agriculture Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (USDA APHIS) tells owners to contact a USDA-accredited veterinarian, who can help obtain a "USDA-endorsed pet health certificate." The CDC is "the primary authority for dog imports," according to USDA APHIS (March 2026). For service dogs, U.S. airlines use the DOT Service Animal Air Transportation Form.
  • Animal Passport is a digital animal and livestock identity record built on muzzle biometrics. An animal's nose print is unique, like a human fingerprint. It is not a government-issued travel document, and an airline will not accept it in place of a DOT form, a health certificate or a CDC requirement.

USDA APHIS also draws a line that matters here: a pet "that's considered livestock or poultry, like pigs or chickens" does not qualify for pet travel and falls under separate import and export rules. Livestock is where Animal Passport is used.

What Animal Passport actually does

With a phone, a farmer or handler photographs an animal's muzzle. The resulting record links the animal to its owner, breed, estimated age, body condition and vaccination history. The age estimate comes from a dental photograph and includes a confidence score. A side-profile photo produces a body condition score from 1 to 5. During livestock flood rescue in Pakistan in August 2025, the system helped farmers reclaim animals after paper ear tags washed away.

None of that is a veterinary diagnosis or legal advice, and none of it gets a dog onto a plane. If you are flying with a pet, follow your airline's policy and the government requirements described above. If you manage cattle, goats or other livestock and need proof of identity and ownership that can survive floods, theft or sales, see our Animal Passport blog for more on biometric animal ID.

How we researched this article

On October 1, 2026, the Animal Passport editorial desk reviewed Spirit Airlines' Contract of Carriage (updated April 30, 2026), Spirit's May 2026 wind-down motion in the U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Frontier Airlines' official pet page, USDA APHIS and CDC pet-travel guidance, and two independent airline pet-policy directories. Spirit's own website returned server errors when we checked, which fits the shutdown. Where sources disagreed, on the weight limit, the per-flight carrier cap, emotional support animals and the bankruptcy chapter, we have said so above.

FAQ

Does Spirit Airlines allow dogs in 2026?
No. Spirit Airlines stopped all passenger flights on May 2, 2026 and is winding down in U.S. bankruptcy court, so it cannot carry dogs or any other passengers.
Is Spirit Airlines still flying?
No. Spirit stopped flying at about 3:00 a.m. on May 2, 2026, according to its bankruptcy court filing. On September 23, 2026, a bankruptcy judge approved the sale of its last 27 aircraft.
What was Spirit Airlines' pet carrier size limit?
Spirit's Contract of Carriage set a maximum pet container size of 18 x 14 x 9 inches (45.72 x 35.56 x 22.86 cm). The carrier had to fit under the seat in front of the passenger.
How much did Spirit Airlines charge to fly a dog?
Independent pet-travel directories list Spirit's in-cabin pet fee as $125 per carrier each way, non-refundable. Spirit's Contract of Carriage confirms there was a charge per carrier but does not state the amount.
Did Spirit Airlines allow dogs in cargo or as checked baggage?
No. Section 6.4 of Spirit's Contract of Carriage stated that Spirit did not accept animals as cargo or as checked baggage. Dogs could fly only in the cabin.
Could you fly a dog internationally on Spirit Airlines?
No, unless it was a service dog. Spirit did not accept pets in the cabin on international flights, but it did accept trained service dogs where the destination country allowed them.
Which airline is most like Spirit for flying with a small dog?
Frontier Airlines is the closest ultra-low-cost alternative. It accepts dogs in the cabin on all domestic flights in soft carriers up to 18 x 14 x 11 inches and does not accept pets as checked baggage.
Is Animal Passport an official pet passport for flying?
No. Animal Passport is a biometric livestock and animal ID record based on muzzle prints, not a government travel document. Airlines require their own forms and veterinary health certificates.

Sources

  1. Contract of Carriage (Updated as of April 30, 2026) — Spirit Airlines
  2. Motion of the Debtors for Entry of an Order Authorizing the Debtors to Wind Down Operations, Case 25-11897 (Doc 1009, filed May 4, 2026) — U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of New York (via Epiq)
  3. Spirit Airlines sells final 27 Airbus passenger jets in $668 million bankruptcy deal — Aerospace Global News
  4. Spirit Airlines Shuts Down in Second Chapter 11 — Elevenflo
  5. Family & Pets: Traveling with Pets — Frontier Airlines
  6. Travel With a Pet — United States Department of Agriculture Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (USDA APHIS)
  7. Bringing a Dog into the U.S. — U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
  8. Spirit Airlines Pet Policies — Airline-Pet-Policies.com
  9. Best Airline for Flying with Pets in Cabin (2026) — Travel Vient

Animal Passport binds a muzzle biometric to a digital record farmers, buyers, and insurers can verify in the field.

Download the app →